Giro d'Italia
Stage 4: Giovinazzo - Bari - Stage Details

Michael Matthews debuted the maglia rosa in Italy on stage four of the Giro d’Italia. It was dumping rain in Giovinazzo at the start of the 112 kilometre stage. The peloton elected to neutralise the race in response to safety concerns, and the officials responded in kind, taking time for the general classification at the start of the final lap (8.3 kilometres) of the city centre circuit in Bari.

Following the meticulous work down by his teammates to keep him safe in the bunch, Matthews sat up at the start of the final lap with the guarantee of bunch time. Those with an interest in the sprint or the points classification weren’t afforded the same luxury and contested the finale. Multiple crashes marred the last lap, underscoring the peloton’s safety concerns, before Nacer Bouhanni ( outsprinted Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek Factory Racing) and Tom Veelers (Giant-Shimano).

Matthews finished on bunch time in 49th place alongside Pieter Weening  and Brett Lancaster. With time bonuses removed, the general classifications remains unaltered. Matthews remains atop the leader’s board with an eight second advantage over Alessandro Petacchi (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step). Daniel Oss (BMC) is two seconds further back in third overall.

"The officials made the very prudent decision to stop the time at one lap. They would not give out any time bonus at the finish line, and any rider that made it to the start of the last lap in the bunch would get bunch time. This didn’t change the dynamics of the race for us. It just moved our job forward by about 8.3 kilometres – the length of a lap." - Sport Director Matt White

"We kept the jersey today, which was the main goal. The team rode perfectly to keep things controlled under some rather difficult road conditions. Tomorrow will be a very different stage with a lot more climbing. I’ll do my best to be up there – that’s the least I can do to repay the hard week they’ve done since day one. The most important thing is that the jersey stays within the team." - Michael Matthews



Place Rider/Team Time
1 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) - 2:22:06
2 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) - Trek Factory Racing ST
3 Tom Veelers (Ned) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
4 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
5 Elia Viviani (Ita) - Cannondale ST
6 Matteo Montaguti (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
7 Kenny De Haes (Bel) - Lotto Belisol ST
8 Luka Mezgec (Slo) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
9 Bert De Backer (Bel) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
10 Francesco Chicchi (Ita) - Neri Sottoli - Yellow Fluo ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
38 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
48 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
49 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
50 Brett Lancaster (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
86 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
103 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
163 Luke Durbridge (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
193 Svein Tuft (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:44
194 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST