Giro d'Italia
Stage 5: Taranto - Viggiano - Stage Details

Michael Matthews finished sixth in the uphill sprint in Viggiano, battling with overall contenders and stage hunters on the fifth stage of the Giro d’Italia. His efforts, coupled with the work done throughout the entire stage by his ORICA-GreenEDGE teammates, earned him another day in the maglia rosa.

Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida) won stage five with a late race attack, crossing the line one second ahead of Cadel Evans (BMC) and Julian Arredondo (Trek Factory Racing). Pieter Weening finished amongst the elite front group that formed over the last lap that included the first climb to Viggiano, a dangerous descent on wet roads and the uphill finish. Weening’s effort saw him move up on the overall classification to second place, 14” behind Matthews. Evans leapfrogged up to third overall, one second behind Weening.

“The goal for the day was the stage win, but to keep the jersey is also a huge thing. If you watched the race today, you saw the boys riding on the front for the entire race. Any of them could be in the jersey right now. I’m just the lucky one that has it on my back. I would have liked to win the stage to pay them back for all the work they’ve been doing for me these last couple days.” - Michael Matthew


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Diego Ulissi (Ita) - Lampre-Merida 5:12:39
2 Cadel Evans (Aus) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:01
3 Julian David Arredondo Moreno (Col) - Trek Factory Racing ST
4 Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team ST
5 Rafal Majka (Pol) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
6 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
7 Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) - Team Katusha ST
8 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team ST
9 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
10 Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) - Movistar Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
6 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
23 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
50 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:11
75 Luke Durbridge (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:57
157 Brett Lancaster (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:11:57
188 Svein Tuft (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:16:32
189 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
190 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
191 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST