Giro d'Italia
Stage 7: Frosinone - Foligno - Stage Details

ORICA-GreenEDGE’s Michael Matthews sprinted to fourth in Foligno to retain his maglia rosa following stage seven of the Giro d’Italia. Nacer Bouhanni ( won the field sprint, outkicking Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek Factory Racing) and Luka Mezgec (Giant-Shimano) to the line. The sprint finish left the general classification relatively untouched. Matthews heads into mountainous terrain on Saturday with a 21” advantage over Cadel Evans (BMC) in second overall and 1’18 over Rigoberto Uran, who rounds out the top three.

Despite concerns that neither Cameron Meyer nor Svein Tuft would start stage seven in Frosinone, the Australian outfit only started the day one man down. Brett Lancaster was amongst the non-starters. His race ended Thursday with a broken hand suffered in the late race pile-up. Tuft and Meyer soldiered on despite their respective injuries and illnesses.

Five riders animated the early action, jumping up the road and into the break. The quintet stretched out their advantage to eight minutes before several different teams came to the front to combine efforts in the chase. Just outside the two kilometre mark, it was game over for the breakaway.

Giant-Shiamno and had the most prominent sprint trains in the high speed finale. Matthews enjoyed strong support from Luke Durbridge and Mitch Docker in the finish.

“We had two objectives today. We wanted to give Michael a chance in the sprint, and we also wanted to keep the jersey. Michael did a good sprint. It was a tight one. He was a bit boxed in, and when he did get out, it wasn’t early enough to make up the distance before the line. The fastest guy won today, and we kept the jersey.” - Sport Director Matt White

“I used on a lot of energy yesterday on the final climb. I don’t think I was at 100 percent. I also started my sprint a bit too far back. It would have been great to get another stage win, but today was more about keeping the pink jersey. It’s already been an amazing week for the team.” - Michael Matthews


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) - 5:16:05
2 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) - Trek Factory Racing ST
3 Luka Mezgec (Slo) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
4 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
5 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
6 Tyler Farrar (USA) - Garmin Sharp ST
7 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) - Bardiani-CSF ST
8 Boy Van Poppel (Ned) - Trek Factory Racing ST
9 Ivan Rovny (Rus) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
10 Elia Viviani (Ita) - Cannondale ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
50 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
145 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
146 Luke Durbridge (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
147 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
157 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:50
180 Svein Tuft (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:13:37
184 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST