Giro d'Italia
Stage 9: Lugo - Sestola - Stage Details

Pieter Weening proved top tactician in a two-up sprint in Sestola to win the ninth stage of the Giro d’Italia. Having spent the day in the early break, Weening attacked the escape group en route to the summit finish. Davide Malacarne (Europcar), sensing the move’s potential bridged across to Weening. The duo held off a spirited chase by their former breakaway companions and the peloton to mountaintop finish.

Weening’s win is a continuation of a brilliant run of success the Australian outfit has enjoyed in the last month including a win at Liège-Bastogne-Liège, three stages wins at the Tour de Romandie, a stage win and the overall victory at Tour of Turkey, a stage win at the Amgen Tour of California, three stage wins at the Giro d’Italia and seven days in the maglia rosa. It is the third Giro d’Italia stage win for Weening, including the team time trial victory last weekend, and the third stage win for ORICA-GreenEDGE at the 97th edition of the Italian Grand Tour.

“The first big goal for the team was the team time trial. We had quite a bit of pressure on our shoulders for that one. We went in as the pre-race favourites. Being strongest on paper isn’t everything. We still had to do the work to get the result. When we won it, it was a huge relief. Every day in the pink was another win for us. Then when Bling [Michael Matthews] suddenly wins on the hilltop finish, it felt unreal. It happened again today. It’s easy to see that the pressure isn’t here for us anymore. We can do what we want, and sometimes the nicest things happen when you have that freedom.” - Pieter Weening

“We’re all very, very happy for Pete. He’s a big part of the reason we won Liège. His commitment to the team is obvious. We’ve all seen it over and over again. It’s a really gratifying feeling for all us when the guys that are busting their tails so their teammates can get results can get a win for themselves.” - Sport Director Matt White


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 4:25:51
2 Davide Malacarne (Ita) - Team Europcar ST
3 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:42
4 Diego Ulissi (Ita) - Lampre-Merida 0:01:08
5 Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team ST
6 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team ST
7 Cadel Evans (Aus) - BMC Racing Team ST
8 Dario Cataldo (Ita) - Team Sky ST
9 Rafal Majka (Pol) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
10 Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) - Colombia ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 4:25:51
43 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:46
159 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:22:29
161 Svein Tuft (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
180 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:23:10
181 Luke Durbridge (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
182 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST