Gent-Wevelgem - Race Overview

Vuelta a Espana stage winner Jens Keukeliere produced one of the rides of a lifetime to take second at Gent-Wevelgem today.

The ORICA-SCOTT rider made the elite selection in the final 40kilometres of an epic race before attacking into the finale with eventual winner Greg Van Avermaet (BMC).

The two Belgians held off the chasing peloton for 20kilometres as they led the race into the finishing straight with Van Avermaet just getting the better of 28-year-old Keuekleire in the two up sprint.

“I’ve been feeling really good the last couple of years in these classics,” said Keuekeleire at the finish. “I get a lot of confidence from the team and I appreciate it a lot. I haven’t really gotten the biggest results, but still they show confidence in me and I’m really happy to be able to show that I can get results in these races.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team 5:39:05
2 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-SCOTT 5:39:05
3 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:06
4 Niki Terpstra (NED) - Quick-Step Floors
5 John Degenkolb (GER) - Trek-Segafredo
6 Tom Boonen (BEL) - Quick-Step Floors
7 Jens Debusschere (BEL) - Lotto Soudal
8 Michael Matthews (AUS) - Team Sunweb
9 Fernando Gaviria (COL) - Quick-Step Floors
10 Sacha Modolo (ITA) - Team UAE Emirates
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-SCOTT 5:39:05
26 Luka Mezgec (SLO) - ORICA-SCOTT 5:39:05
43 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:13
47 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:13
98 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:07:26
101 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:07:26