Gent-Wevelgem - Race Overview

After the frustration from Friday’s race in Harelbeke had died down Matteo Trentin’s attention turned to the 80th edition of Gent-Wevelgem where the Italian sprinted to seventh in the final after another strong team performance.

Trentin was never alone throughout the race and well executed tactics of Mitchelton-SCOTT left Slovenian champion Luka Mezgec alongside Trentin in a select favourites group flying towards the finish in Wevelgem.

Despite repeated attacks over the closing kilometres the race came down to a reduced bunch sprint that was won by world champion Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) with Trentin in seventh place.

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Bora-Hansgrohe 05:53:37
2 Elia Viviani (ITA) - Quick-Step Floors
3 Arnaud Demare (FRA) - FDJ
4 Christophe Laporte (FRA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits
5 Jens Debusschere (BEL) - Lotto Soudal
6 Oliver Naesen (BEL) - AG2R La Mondiale
7 Matteo Trentin (ITA) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 05:53:37
8 Zdenek Stybar (CZE) - Quick-Step Floors
9 Jasper Stuyven (BEL) - Trek-Segafredo
10 Wout Van Aert (BEL) - Veranda's Willems Crelan
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
7 Matteo Trentin (ITA) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 05:53:37
23 Luka Mezgec (SLO) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:00:12
97 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:05:39
100 Jack Bauer (NZL) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:05:39
101 Alex Edmondson (AUS) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:05:39
105 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:11:47
132 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:11:47