Giro d'Italia
Stage 9: Montenegro di Bisaccia to Blockhaus - Stage Details

British climber Adam Yates has vowed to fight on after an unfortunate crash involving a motorbike put a dent in his and ORICA-SCOTT’s overall aspirations at the Giro d’Italia today.

With around 15km to go, on the tough final climb of stage nine, a stationary police motorbike on the side of the road clipped a Team Sunweb rider causing a crash that took down Yates and a number of other general classification contenders, including Geraint Thomas (Team Sky).

Yates quickly mounted back on his bike, despite a broken frame and a rubbing wheel from the crash. The 24-year-old had the support of teammates Ruben Plaza and Carlos Verona in the chase, but the damage was done courtesy of a furious pace up front.

Ahead, a strong Nairo Quintana (Movistar) took the stage solo whilst Yates fought on hard to finish 4’39” behind on the famous Blockhaus climb.

Despite the disappointment, Yates has vowed to fight on.

"I'm bitterly dissappointed with today's unfortunate situation, but the Giro isn't over for us yet," Yates said.

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Nairo Quintana (COL) - Movistar Team 3:44:51
2 Thibaut Pinot (FRA) - FDJ 0:00:24
3 Tom Dumoulin (NED) - Team Sunweb 0:00:24
4 Bauke Mollema (NED) - Trek-Segafredo 0:00:41
5 Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) - Bahrain-Merida 0:01:00
6 Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:18
7 Tanel Kangert (EST) - Astana Pro Team 0:02:02
8 Ilnur Zakarin (RUS) - Katusha-Alpecin 0:02:14
9 Sébastien Reichenbach (SWI) - FDJ 0:02:28
10 Davide Formolo (ITA) - Cannondale-Drapac 0:02:35
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
23 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:04:39
53 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:13:18
54 Carlos Verona (SPA) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:13:18
135 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:26:37
147 Svein Tuft (CAN) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:26:37
148 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:26:37
157 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:26:37
170 Luka Mezgec (SLO) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:27:50
172 Alexander Edmondson (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:27:56