Giro Rosa
Stage 4: Occhiobello - Occhiobello - Stage Details

Stage four of the Giro Rosa saw a shake up in the general classification as a dangerous move formed in the final 20kilometres of the flat 118kilometre stage into Occhiobello.

After the final intermediate sprint the peloton suddenly split and group of around 40riders rapidly gained over a one minute advantage with stage two winner Annemiek van Vleuten not present.

Amanda Spratt was ORICA-SCOTT’s only representation in the front group which contained the current race leader Anna van der Breggen (Boels-Dolmans) and many other race favourites, who took the opportunity to gain time on their rivals.

ORICA-SCOTT found themselves on the back foot and as the gap grew they had to work tirelessly in an attempt to limit the damage.

Despite the team's efforts, the leaders survived to the finish line with Jolien D’Hoore (Wiggle-High5) taking the reduced bunch sprint victory as Dutch time trial champion Van Vleuten crossed the line one minute 59seconds behind to ultimately slip down two places overall.

“Annemiek was a little caught out of position at one moment and suddenly the race split,” explained sport director Gene Bates. “I think the front group realised Annemiek wasn’t there and the time gap went from five seconds to thirty seconds instantly.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Jolien D'Hoore (BEL) - Wiggle High 2:42:04
2 Chloe Hosking (AUS) - Alé Cipollini
3 Coryn Rivera (USA) - Team Sunweb Women
4 Hannah Barnes (GBR) - Canyon SRAM Racing
5 Giorgia Bronzini (ITA) - Wiggle High
6 Arlenis Sierra (CUB) - Astana Women's Team
7 Annalisa Cucinotta (ITA) - Lensworld-Kuota
8 Claudia Cretti (ITA) - Valcar PBM
9 Amalie Dideriksen (DEN) - Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
10 Ilaria Sanguineti (ITA) - BePink Cogeas
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
36 Amanda Spratt (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 2:42:04
101 Annemiek Van Vleuten (NED) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:59
103 Katrin Garfoot (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:59
116 Georgia Williams (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:59
117 Sarah Roy (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:59
129 Alexandra Manly (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:59
130 Jenelle Crooks (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:59