G.P. Città di Camaiore - Race Overview

Simon Clarke was part of the four man late race break that slipped clear on the final climb of the one-day GP Camaiore. Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida) sprinted to victory ahead of Matteo Montaguti (Ag2r-La Mondiale). Julian Arredondo (Trek Factory Racing) rounded out the podium. Clarke, the last rider to bridge across the race winning move, finished in fourth place. The peloton crossed the finish line a mere two seconds behind the leaders. Jens Keukeleire contested the sprint, finishing third in the bunch to slot into seventh overall.

“If Clarkey had been satisfied with running second or third, he may well have been able to do that. He wanted to win, and he put it all out there. Clarkey opened up the sprint, and Ulissi came over the top of him, taking the other guys right past him, too. That’s why he ran fourth. He went after the win. He wasn’t content for settle for another spot on the podium.” - Sport Director Neil Stephens

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Diego Ulissi (Ita) - Lampre-Merida 4:18:37
2 Matteo Montaguti (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
3 Julian Arredondo (Col) - Trek Factory Racing ST
4 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
5 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) - Bardiani-CSF 0:00:03
6 Fabio Felline (Ita) - Trek Factory Racing ST
7 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
8 Salvatore Puccio (Ita) - Team Sky ST
9 Mauro Finetto (Ita) - Yellow Fluo ST
10 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) - Astana Pro Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
7 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
26 Simon Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
35 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
59 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:01
111 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:23
112 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST