G.P. Città di Lugano - Race Overview

Simon Yates won the mountains classification at the G.P Città di Lugano. The Brit was part of an eight rider breakaway that included his teammate Leigh Howard. As the peloton began to close in on the leaders in the final hour of racing, the breakaway splintered. Yates one of two riders to evade the peloton’s grasp until the final ten kilometres. 

The heavy circuit combined with attacks in the finale whittled down the chase group turned leading group to less than 20 riders. ORICA-GreenEDGE had two riders in contention with the finish line looming - Simon Clarke and Ivan Santaromita. Three hundred metres from the finish line, Clarke was hit by another rider from behind. The impact caused Clarke to lose all of his rear spokes, leaving him unable to contest the finish. 

Mauro Finetto (Neri Sottoli – Yellow Fluo) took the race win ahead of Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani-CSF) and Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida). Santaromita was the team’s top finisher, just outside the top ten in 11th place. While it’s always disappointing when a mechanical steals an opportunity for a result, Stephens considers the day a success by the standards he outlined ahead of the race. 

“A few days ago, I said it would be a successful day if the boys were amongst the race action. They were amongst it from kilometre one and all the way to the finish line. We were in the break. We got the mountains jersey. We had two riders left in the group at the finish. It was a good day for ORICA-GreenEDGE in every regard – except for the result.” - Sport Director Neil Stephens 

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Mauro Finetto (Ita) - Yellow Fluo 4:12:14
2 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) - Bardiani - CSF ST
3 Diego Ulissi (Ita) - Lampre - Merida ST
4 Damiano Cunego (Ita) - Lampre - Merida ST
5 Jerome Pineau (Fra) - Iam Cycling ST
6 Maxime Bouet (Fra) - AG2R - La Mondiale ST
7 Jarlinson Pantano (Col) - Colombia ST
8 Matej Mugerli (Slo) - Adria Mobil ST
9 Davide Formolo (Ita) - Cannondale ST
10 Paolo Ciavatta (Ita) - Area Zero Pro Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
11 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
30 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:29
37 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:30
62 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:27
64 Simon Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:09
87 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:29