GP du canton d'Argovie - Race Overview

Two-time GP du Canton d’Argovie winner Michael Albasini spent the day driving the breakaway for ORICA-GreenEDGE, missing out on a third victory as the move was caught on the final lap of the race.

Albasini was part of a sixteen-man move that escaped on the first of eight laps around the town of Gippingen. Taking huge turns on the front and pulling the group up the short climbs, the Swiss rider gave it everything in search of a record breaking third win.

The race was eventually won from the bunch sprint by Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) after the field came back together with less than 15kilometres to go.

Magnus Cort contested the sprint for ORICA-GreenEDGE, crossing the line in seventh place after suffering a mechanical in the finale and needing a very speedy bike change.

Sport director Dave McPartland was pleased with how the team performed in such a fast and aggressive race.

The whole team rode very well today,” said McPartland. “We can be very pleased with our efforts. Michael (Albasini) was very unfortunate to be out front for so long only to be caught on the final circuit."

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA) - Trek-Segafredo 4:08:38
2 Andrea Pasqualon (ITA) - Team Roth ST
3 David Tanner (AUS) - IAM Cycling ST
4 Kristian Sbaragli (ITA) - Dimension Data ST
5 Matti Breschel (DEN) - Cannondale Pro Cycling ST
6 Zakkari Dempster (AUS) - Bora-Argon 18 ST
7 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
8 Silvan Dillier (SWI) - BMC Racing Team ST
9 Gaetan Bille (BEL) - Wanty - Groupe Gobert ST
10 Sergei Chernetski (RUS) - Team Katusha ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
7 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
16 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
19 Amets Txurruka (SPA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST