GP Montréal - Race Overview


With three riders up the road, Simon Gerrans won the bunch sprint good for fourth place from an elite group that had formed on the final lap of the GP Montréal. Launching an attack of his own and following select moves, Gerrans demonstrated his strength in the closing kilometers. Lacking teammates, Gerrans was limited to responding to only the most dangerous attacks and elected to allow other riders to close the gap to what turned out to be the race winning move.

“The plan today was similar to the plan we used at Québec. Of course we knew that we would need to take some responsibility during the race to bring back moves when necessary. We covered the attacks that we considered threatening, which wasn’t always easy with six riders. The team was great. They all knew Simon could win again today, and they gave him all the support he needed.” - Sports Director Laurenzo Lapage

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Lars Petter Nordhaug (Nor) - Sky Procycling 5:28:29
2 Moreno Moser (Ita) - Liquigas-Cannondale 0:00:02
3 Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) - Katusha ST
4 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE Cycling Team 0:00:04
5 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) - Sky Procycling ST
6 Björn Leukemans (Bel) - Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team 0:00:05
7 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) - Lotto Belisol Team ST
8 Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) - Movistar Team ST
9 Luca Paolini (Ita) - Katusha Team ST
10 Tony Gallopin (Fra) - RadioShack-Nissan
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE Cycling Team 0:00:04
73 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:45
84 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
101 Michael Albasini (Sui) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:20