GP Québec - Race Overview


Simon Gerrans took a convincing win in Québec following a late race attack on the final circuit lap. Just inside the final four kilometers, Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) made his move. Gerrans jumped to respond. The duo worked together to distance themselves from their chasers. Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale) posed the biggest threat as he jumped from the bunch and nearly bridged across.

Under the flamme rouge, Gerrans and Van Avermaet had a small gap on Sagan and the chasing field. Around the final corner, Gerrans lead Van Avermaet towards the line. Van Avermaet opened the sprint. Gerrans came around him with enough time to celebrate his victory in Old Québec. 

“It’s fantastic to win today. This is some of the hardest racing on the calendar. It’s fantastic racing in Québec on an exciting circuit with great crowds and great ambience." - Simon Gerrans

“Without a good team, it’s nearly impossible win a race like this. The team did what we asked them to do. Each rider played a role to allow Simon to finish off with the win. I’m a proud and happy director.” - Sports Director Laurenzo Lapage

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE Cycling Team 4:53:04
2 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) - BMC Racing Team ST
3 Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) - Movistar Team 0:04:53:08
4 Luca Paolini (Ita) - Katusha Team ST
5 Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) - Rabobank Cycling Team ST
6 Diego Ulissi (Ita) - Lampre - ISD ST
7 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) - Team Europcar ST
8 Fabian Wegmann (Ger) - Garmin - Sharp ST
9 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) - Omega Pharma-Quickstep ST
10 Francois Parisien (Can) - Spidertech Powered By C10 ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE Cycling Team 4:53:04
60 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:40
85 Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:41
86 Michael Albasini (Sui) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST