Gran Premio Miguel Indurain - Race Overview

Adam Yates finished in 15th place at the GP Miguel Indurain today despite a spirited attempt to bridge across to the leaders with 30kilometres remaining.

After starting the day with Mathew Hayman in the early breakaway, the frustration began for ORICA-GreenEDGE when they got caught the wrong side of the split from which the winning move was made. Realising the attack could develop, Michael Matthews began to pull at the head of the peloton alongside Chris Juul Jensen and Amets Txurruka.

Although the advantage initially began to come down, the chase was ultimately in vain as Jon Izagirre (Movistar) broke clear from the reduced breakaway to take the win.

Sports director Dave McPartland lamented the missed oppurtuntiy after good early work by the team.

“We started the race really well, Mathew (Hayman) got into the first breakaway which meant we could leave the early work for the other teams,” said McPartland. “It was surprising how quickly the race came back together and when the next attack happened we were unfortunately caught out of position. We rallied our efforts to try and get back on but it wasn’t to be.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Jon Izagirre Insausti (SPA) - Movistar Team 4:37:18
2 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (COL) - Team Sky ST
3 Moreno Moser (ITA) - Cannondale Pro Cycling 0:00:14
4 Giovanni Visconti (ITA) - Movistar Team 0:00:17
5 Sergei Chernetski (RUS) - Team Katusha 0:00:18
6 Pello Bilbao Lopez De Armentia (SPA) - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:00:20
7 Egor Silin (RUS) - Team Katusha 0:00:35
8 Hugh Carthy (GBR) - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:02:42
9 Fabricio Ferrari Barcelo (URU) - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:02:58
10 Frederico Figueiredo (POR) - Radio Popular - Boavista 0:03:35
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
15 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:05
21 Amets Txurruka (SPA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:12
76 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:17:11