Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal - Race Overview

South African national time trial champion Daryl Impey has finished in 17th place for ORICA-SCOTT at the Grand Prix Cycliste de Quebec battling with the uphill finish as part of the chasing group behind a late attack.

A veritable war of attrition the 201kilometre race included 4,000metres of elevation and began with an early two-man breakaway out front for more than 100kilometres.

Once the initial duo came back the race was really on with Michael Albasini and Roman Kreuziger both active in the attacks that preceded the race winning move.

Despite good positioning and repeated attempts to go clear ORICA-SCOTT was not part of the six-rider group that accelerated away on the last lap.

Contributing to the chase with the group behind the Australian outfit came within seconds of making it back, running out of road as the late break reached the line with Diego Ulissi (UAE-Team-Emirates) taking the win as Impey struggled in the sprint with a broken rear derailleur.

“The guys were fantastic today,” said sport director Laurenzo Lapage. “The first breakaway came back quite early and in effect that made for a really long and hard finale. Michael and Roman were very active over the last 40kilometres and involved in attack after attack, but when that group went we just lost contact.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Diego Ulissi (ITA) - UAE Team Emirates 5:22:29
2 Jesus Herrada (SPA) - Movistar Team ST
3 Tom-Jelte Slagter (NED) - Cannondale-Drapac ST
4 Jan Bakelants (BEL) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
5 Bauke Mollema (NED) - Trek-Segafredo 0:00:06
6 Tony Gallopin (FRA) - Lotto Soudal 0:00:11
7 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:16
8 Michael Matthews (AUS) - Team Sunweb 0:00:16
9 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:16
10 Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) - Cannondale-Drapac 0:00:16
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
17 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:16
23 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:16
27 Roman Kreuziger (CZE) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:55
43 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:40
63 Mitchell Docker (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:03:55
66 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:03:55
98 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:09:51