Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal - Race Overview

After finishing fifth in Quebec on Friday Australian Michael Matthews rounded off a weekend of Canadian racing for ORICA-BikeExchange by taking fourth from the reduced bunch sprint in the Grand Prix Cycliste de Montreal today.

The long 205kilometre race saw an early breakaway of six riders stay away for the majority of the day before finally being caught with around 20kilometres to go after strong work by ORICA-BikeExchange on the front.

The finale was fast and hectic with a reduced bunch shaping up to contest the sprint after a crash on the final corner split the field.

2016 Paris-Nice stage winner Matthews was clipped slightly in the crash and fought back solidly to take fourth behind race winner Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) with Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) in second.

Sport director Laurenzo Lapage was pleassed with the efforts of the team over the two races.

"It was a really strong team effort today," said Lapage. "We brought the race back together time and again before the finale and we knew that if the group comes back together too soon in a race lke this it can be dabgerous so we had to be aware."

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team 5:27:04
2 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Tinkoff Team ST
3 Diego Ulissi (ITA) - Lampre - Merida ST
4 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
5 Nathan Haas (AUS) - Dimension Data ST
6 Gianni Moscon (ITA) - Team Sky ST
7 Alberto Bettiol (ITA) - Cannondale-Drapac ST
8 Jon Izaguirre Insausti (SPA) - Movistar Team ST
9 Anthony Roux (FRA) - FDJ ST
10 Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
42 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:13
53 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:03:02
58 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:03:36
59 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:03:36