Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec - Race Overview

Multiple Tour de Romandie stage winner Michael Albasini placed just outside the frontrunners at the Grand Prix Cycliste de Quebec in Canada as ORICA-SCOTT battled for position to contest the sprint.

A predictable and patient race played out over 201kilometres with four leaders going away early before finally being caught by the bunch with 20kilometres left to race.

Tentative attacks peppered the lead up to the final with Otztaler Pro 5500 winner Roman Kreuziger off the front on the final climb, but caught with two kilometres remaining.

Mitch Docker took up the charge and held the front of the race together into the final few hundred metres before a slightly messy bunch sprint unfolded with Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) taking the win and Albasini and Daryl Impey close behind.

“We knew how the bulk of the race would play out, it’s always the same here,” said sport director Laurenzo Lapage. “The last two laps are the key to getting a result and positioning is all important especially over the last two ramps into the finish.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Bora-Hansgrohe 5:00:31
2 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team ST
3 Michael Matthews (AUS) - Team Sunweb ST
4 Alexis Vuillermoz (FRA) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
5 Tim Wellens (BEL) - Lotto Soudal ST
6 Tom-Jelte Slagter (NED) - Cannondale-Drapac ST
7 Petr Vakoc (CZE) - Quick-Step Floors ST
8 Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) - Cannondale-Drapac ST
9 Tony Gallopin (FRA) - Lotto Soudal ST
10 Sonny Colbrelli (ITA) - Bahrain-Merida ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
22 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-SCOTT ST
25 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-SCOTT ST
33 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-SCOTT ST
55 Roman Kreuziger (CZE) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:17
58 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:25
69 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:41
75 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:06
127 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:10:23