Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec - Race Overview

Simon Gerrans won the GP Québec last year, and his teammates hoped to repeat the feat this year in his absence. Despite late race efforts from Pieter Weening and Sebastian Langeveld to animate the finale, Fumy Beppu was the best placed rider for ORICA-GreenEDGE in 24th place, 8” behind race winner Robert Gesink (Belkin).

“We were there in the end with Pieter, Sebastian and Beppu. We had planned to have those guys in the final, and that worked for us, but we didn’t have the result in the end. The boys learned a lot today, and we’re looking forward to giving it another shot in Montreal on Sunday.” - Sport Director Laurenzo Lapage

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Robert Gesink (Ned) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team 4:58:13
2 Arthur Vichot (Fra) - ST
3 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) - BMC Racing Team ST
4 Fabian Wegmann (Ger) - Garmin-Sharp ST
5 Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) - Movistar Team ST
6 Niki Terpstra (Ned) - Omega Pharma-Quick Step ST
7 Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team ST
8 Matti Breschel (Den) - Team Saxo-Tinkoff ST
9 Simon Geschke (Ger) - Team Argos-Shimano ST
10 Peter Sagan (Svk) - Cannondale Pro Cycling 0:00:06
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
24 Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:08
29 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
66 Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:12
89 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:56
98 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:39