Grand Prix Cycliste de Quebec - Race Overview

Recent Tour of Alberta stage winner Michael Matthews has continued his return to form ahead of the world championships, winning the bunch sprint for second place at Grand Prix Cycliste de Quebec.

After an extremely active final two laps, Rigoberto Uran (Etixx-Quickstep) slipped off the front in the final kilometres and survived narrowly from a fast closing peloton.

Matthews went wide from the bunch to launch his sprint in attempt to bridge the gap but fell just short, awarded the same finishing time as Uran. Alexander Kristoff (Team Katusha) rounded out the podium in third.

“My team did a lot of work for to place me in the final and I think we can be happy with this result,” Matthews said. "I can only thank them for the incredible work they did.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Rigoberto Uran Uran (COL) - Etixx - Quick-Step 5:09:47
2 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
3 Alexander Kristoff (NOR) - Team Katusha ST
4 Tom Jelte Slagter (NED) - Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team ST
5 Diego Ulissi (ITA) - Lampre-Merida ST
6 Bauke Mollema (NED) - Trek Factory Racing ST
7 Philippe Gilbert (BEL) - BMC Racing Team ST
8 Tony Gallopin (FRA) - Lotto Soudal ST
9 Warren Barguil (FRA) - Team Giant-Alpecin ST
10 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
32 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:15
82 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:47
84 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:47
110 Christian Meier (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:47
113 Simon Clarke (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:47