Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec - Race Overview

2016 Tour de France stage winner Michael Matthews came close in the Grand Prix Cycliste de Quebec again today, finishing in fifth place from the reduced bunch sprint after numerous late attacks animated the finale.

ORICA-BikeExchange were ever present at the front of the race from the early kilometres, controlling the bringing back the breakaway before fresh attacks started anew as the speed intensified into the finale.

Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) took the victory as the last attack was caught in the closing metres by the heavily reduced group of race favourites that included Matthews.

Sport director Laurenzo Lapage was pleased with the work and positive attitude of the team.

“The team did a great job today,” said Lapage. “After the breakaway went up the road so early our guys took up the responsibility of maintaining control and some good teamwork brought the race back together and kept Michael (Matthews) in a good position.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Tinkoff Team 5:07:13
2 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team ST
3 Anthony Roux (FRA) - FDJ ST
4 Alberto Bettiol (ITA) - Cannondale - Drapac ST
5 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
6 Nathan Haas (AUS) - Dimension Data ST
7 Diego Ulissi (ITA) - Lampre - Merida ST
8 Bauke Mollema (NED) - Trek-Segafredo ST
9 Petr Vakoc (CZE) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
10 Viacheslav Kuznetsov (RUS) - Team Katusha ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
5 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
71 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:02:24
88 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:02:52
97 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:04:52