Jayco Herald Sun Tour
Prologue - Melbourne - Stage Details

Australia’s oldest stage race and the final race of the Australian season, the Jayco Herald Sun Tour, got underway this evening with a 2.1km prologue in the centre of Melbourne. 

Former Australian time trial champion Michael Hepburn was the fastest finisher for ORICA-SCOTT, finishing in a time of 2:34.43. The effort was good enough for fourth place, two seconds behind stage winner and yellow jersey bearer Danny Van Poppel (Team Sky).

General classification hopeful Esteban Chaves stopped the clock in 2:43:11 to limit the time loss to his climbing rivals, including Chris Froome (Team Sky) who finished four seconds faster.

“Michael had a really good ride tonight,” sport director Matt Wilson said. “With such a short course, it really is a matter of seconds and he had a good hit out off no specific preparation.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Danny van Poppel (NED) - Team Sky 0:02:32
2 Brenton Jones (AUS) - JLT Condor 0:00:01
3 Alex Frame (NZL) - JLT Condor 0:00:01
4 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:02
5 Leigh Howard (AUS) - Aqua Blue Sport 0:00:03
6 Anthony Giacoppo (AUS) - IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness 0:00:03
7 Jesse Kerrison (AUS) - IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness 0:00:03
8 Ian Bibby (GBR) - JLT Condor 0:00:04
9 Travis McCabe (USA) - UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:00:04
10 Cameron Bayly (AUS) - IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness 0:00:04
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:02
13 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:05
19 Damien Howson (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:06
28 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:08
40 Rob Power (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:08
55 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:10
64 Jhoan Esteban Chaves Rubio (COL) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:11