Jayco Herald Sun Tour
Stage 2: Yarra Glen to Moe - Stage Details

21-year-old sprinter Caleb Ewan has added another victory to his tally in an incredible start to the 2016 season. Already his third UCI win and ninth victory so far this season, Ewan powered ahead to take the honours, after a strong effort on the final climb of the day.

"It's a different finish to the usual sprints I contest," said Ewan. "I am really happy with the win today, the boys helped me out so much. I struggled a little bit over the climbs early on but I had the team around me and they helped me stay as fresh as possible for the final."

"On the final climb I knew (Jack) Bobridge (Trek-Segafredo) and (Peter) Kennaugh (Team Sky) were strong, they've proven that so I knew couldn't let them get a gap over the top. I fought for dear life and was able to stay with them."

Read the full report now.



Place Rider/Team Time
1 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 3:29:06
2 Tanner Putt (USA) - United Healthcare Pro Cycling ST
3 Peter Kennaugh (GBR) - Team Sky 0:00:03
4 Chris Froome (GBR) - Team Sky 0:00:05
5 Jack Bobridge (AUS) - Trek – Segafredo 0:00:05
6 Jack Haig (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:14
7 Niccolo Bonifazio (ITA) - Trek – Segafredo 0:00:25
8 John Murphy (USA) - United Healthcare Pro Cycling 0:00:25
9 Patrick Shaw (AUS) - Avanti IsoWhey Cycling Team 0:00:25
10 Fumiyuki Beppu (JPN) - Trek – Segafredo 0:00:25
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 3:29:06
6 Jack Haig (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:14
11 Damien Howson (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:25
33 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:35
64 Christian Meier (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:14
65 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:14