La Course by Le Tour de France - Pursuit - Race Overview

After her spectacular win on the summit finish of the Col d’Izoard on Thursday Annemiek van Vleuten was the favourite for today’s pursuit stage of La Course by Le Tour de France and the Dutch champion did not disappoint, storming to another convincing victory for ORICA-SCOTT women.

The best twenty riders from Thursday’s stage won the right to compete for the win in today’s second event, with the time gaps from the Izoard carried into a staggered start for the 22.5kilometre time trial course around Marseille.

Van Vleuten began with a 43second advantage and quickly started to build on it. The closest chasers were working together, but their hesitation only cost them time as Van Vleuten’s lead continued to grow.

Maintaining around one minute 40seconds for the duration of the course Van Vleuten entered the Stade Velodrome to the sound of victorious applause and sealed a memorable one-two here in France.

“It’s really special to have won both stages at La Course,” said a jubilant Van Vleuten. “I get goose bumps thinking about Thursday with the mountain finish, but today was a beautiful course with a lot of people on the road cheering and I just wanted to stick to my plan and go as hard as possible.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Annemiek Van Vleuten (NED) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:32:52
2 Elizabeth Deignan (GBR) - Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 0:01:52
3 Elisa Longo Borghini (ITA) - Wiggle High5
4 Megan Guarnier (USA) - Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 0:03:00
5 Amanda Spratt (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:03:26
6 Shara Gillow (AUS) - FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope 0:03:48
7 Lauren Stephens (USA) - Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank 0:03:53
8 Katarzyna Niewiadoma (POL) - WM3 Pro Cycling 0:04:35
9 Ashleigh Moolman Pasio (RSA) - Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team
10 Ana Christina Sanabria Sanchez (0:04:46) -
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Annemiek Van Vleuten (NED) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:32:52
5 Amanda Spratt (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:03:26