La Flèche Wallonne Féminine - Race Overview

ORICA-SCOTT women posted another strong classics result at La Fleche Wallonne Femininetoday as Dutch star Annemiek van Vleuten pushed hard for fourth place after a brutal finish atop the iconic Mur de Huy.

A fast and aggressive race unfolded after the halfway point with the early breakaway being caught by an elite group that contained Van Vleuten, Katrin Garfoot and Amanda Spratt as the pace increased into the finishing circuits.

Multiple attacks forced splits all the way into the finale before the race was eventually won by another strong solo attack by Anna van der Breggen (Boels-Dolmans), with Van Vleuten finishing well to take fourth and now sits only six points off the lead of the Women’s WorldTour.

“We came into today’s race thinking that Annemiek wouldn't be able to match the other favourites on the final climb,” said sport director Gene Bates. “So we were really trying to get her away in the final 20 or 30kilometres, trying to gain an advantage.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Anna Van Der Breggen (NED) - Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 3:21:06
2 Elizabeth Deignan (GBR) - Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 0:00:16
3 Katarzyna Niewiadoma (POL) - WM3 Pro Cycling 0:00:25
4 Annemiek Van Vleuten (NED) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:43
5 Shara Gillow (AUS) - FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope 0:00:49
6 Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) - Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team 0:00:54
7 Coryn Rivera (USA) - Team Sunweb Women 0:00:56
8 Janneke Ensing (NED) - Alé Cipollini 0:00:58
9 Katrin Garfoot (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:00
10 Flavia Oliveira (BRA) - Lares-Waowdeals 0:01:02
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Annemiek Van Vleuten (NED) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:43
9 Katrin Garfoot (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:00
50 Amanda Spratt (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:04:27
53 Georgia Williams (NZL) - ORICA-SCOTT
62 Jenelle Crooks (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:04:41
104 Jessica Allen (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:12:19