La Flèche Wallonne - Race Overview

Three-time 2014 Tour de Romandie stage winner Michael Albasini has claimed ORICA-GreenEDGE’s third Classics podium of 2015 at La Fleche Wallonne today.

A consistent performer at the Belgian race, including a second place in 2012, Albasini was given the opportunity to lead the Australian outfit, one he made the most of.

The 34-year-old finished third atop the Mur de Huy, trailing Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team) who claimed his third title and Julian Alaphilippe (Etixx – Quick Step).

“The Mur de Huy is a climb that suits me,” Albasini said. “This race is also my chance to go for a result because at Amstel (Gold) Race and Liege, I am mostly there as a teammate for Simon Gerrans or Michael Matthews."

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Alejandro Valverde (SPA) - Movistar Team 5:08:22
2 Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
3 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
4 Joaquim Rodriguez (SPA) - Team Katusha ST
5 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (SPA) - Team Katusha ST
6 Alexis Vuillermoz (FRA) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:04
7 Sergio Luis Henao (COL) - Team Sky 0:00:04
8 Jakob Fuglsang (DEN) - Astana Pro Team 0:00:04
9 Tom Jelte Slagter (NED) - Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team 0:00:04
10 Wilco Kelderman (NED) - Team LottoNL-Jumbo 0:00:04
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
45 Esteban Chaves (COL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:39
62 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:05
94 Pieter Weening (NED) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:50