La Route de France
Stage 7: Cusset - Chauffailles - Stage Details

Emma Johansson was forced to settle for second overall at the Route de France after leading the eight day French tour all week. The Swede won the prologue last Saturday and notched three stage podiums throughout the week. She supported Melissa Hoskins to an additional podium placing, giving ORICA-AIS one victory, four podiums and seven days in the orange leader’s jersey. Tiffany Cromwell overcame a major mechanical on the final stage to finish in tenth overall, giving the Australian outfit two in the general classification top ten. 

The hilly parcours on the final day of racing proved as decisive as predicted. Linda Villumsen (Wiggle Honda) started the stage in second overall, 1” behind Johansson. The Danish-born Kiwi time trialed away from the field to take both the stage win and the overall classification. 

"I had distanced the chase group at some point, but they came back to me on the final circuit. We were a group of nine riders, and I was the only one working. Evie didn’t want to work. No one else wanted to work. That’s when I knew I was riding for second place. Linda had 1’30 by then. Maybe it was possible for me to get across to her, but if I did all the work, I wouldn’t be racing for the win anymore anyway because everyone else would have fresher legs for the final.

"In the end, it was a boring last lap. I did 15km on the front with eight people sitting like a train behind me on my wheel. Linda won by 5’53 ahead of Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans), won our group sprint for second on the stage. Tatiana Guderzo (MCipollini-Giordana) rounded out the podium, and I was fourth on the stage." - Emma Johansson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Linda Villumsen (NZl) - Wiggle Honda 0:03:28
2 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) - Boels - Dolmans 0:05:53
3 Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) - Mcipollini-Giordana ST
4 Emma Johansson (Swe) - ORICA-AIS ST
5 Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) - Vienne Futuroscope ST
6 Alenda Amialiusik (Blr) - Be Pink ST
7 Tatiana Antoshina (Rus) - Mcipollini-Giordana ST
8 Grace Sulzberger (Aus) - Australia ST
9 Evelyn Stevens (USA) - USA ST
10 Noemi Cantele (Ita) - Be Pink ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Emma Johansson (Swe) - ORICA-AIS ST
12 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:06:04
49 Sungeun Gu (Kor) - ORICA-AIS 0:18:10