Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah
Stage 1: Brian Head - Cedar City - Stage Details

Michael Matthews was forced to settle for second in Cedar City on the first stage of the Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) caught the field off guard when he attacked inside the final kilometre. The Belgian managed to narrowly hold off the chasing field. Matthews won the bunch kick, on the same time of Van Avermaet, ahead of US U23 National Criterium Champion Ty Magner (Hincapie Sportswear Development Team).

The early action appeared to set the stage for a perfect scenario for the team’s tactics. All hands (and legs) were on board for Matthews in the projected bunch sprint. Chris Jones (Unitedhealthcare) and Michael Torckler (Bissell) slipped away from the bunch when neutral gave way to the official start. The duo quickly built up their advantage.

“It was perfect for us at the start. We wanted a small manageable group to go away that we could bring back fairly easily. When the two guys went into the break, everything was great as far as our planned was concerned. We didn’t expect the two guys out front to be so strong. We also didn’t anticipate how little help we’d get from the bunch. It was clearly all on our shoulders to chase." - Matt Wilson

“The finish didn’t go exactly to plan. We had to use most of the team to bring back the break today, so we didn’t have much a lead-out for the sprint. When Greg slipped away, there wasn’t anything we could do without a full lead-out to bring him back. In the end, I could only sprint for second.” - Michael Matthews


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) - BMC Racing Team 4:11:00
2 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
3 Tyler Magner (USA) - Hincapie Sportswear Development ST
4 Eric Young (USA) - Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies ST
5 Kiel Reijnen (USA) - UnitedHealthCare Pro Cycling ST
6 Joseph Lewis (Aus) - Hincapie Sportswear Development ST
7 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) - Bontrager Cycling Team ST
8 Christopher Baldwin (USA) - Bissell Pro Cycling ST
9 Fred Rodriguez (USA) - Jelly Belly p/b Kenda ST
10 Jeffry Louder (USA) - UnitedHealthCare Pro Cycling ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
62 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
94 Baden Cooke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:23
100 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:38
105 Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:55
115 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:49
116 Damian Howson (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST