Challenge Ciclista A Mallorca
Trofeo Palma - Stage Details

The Trofeo Palma kicked started the Challenge Majorca today. ORICA-GreenEDGE planned to ride for Leigh Howard on the ten-lap, 116 kilometre street circuit. The pancake flat course lent itself to a bunch sprint, and after his strong showing in the sprints at Tour de San Luis, Howard was an obvious contender for the finish. Unfortunately the sprint train went too hard too early, and Howard got reshuffled back the bunch ahead of the finish. Boxed in, he never had a chance to unleash the full power of his sprint. 

“It’s the first race for a lot of riders, and we’re never really sure about anyone’s form until we see the race. I know it can be hard to understand that we’re satisfied even if the team isn’t up in the results, but we are. We need to work on our dynamic at the finish. Aside from the sprint, the rest of the race went really well. The team is super eager to race hard in Majorca, and it’s clear their focused on the important races we have coming up after this.” - Sport Director Neil Stephens


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Kenny Dehaes (Bel) - Lotto Belisol 2:39:07
2 Tyler Farrar (USA) - Garmin-Sharp ST
3 Ben Swift (GBr) - Sky Procycliung ST
4 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
5 Fco. Jose Ventoso (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
6 Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
7 Adrien Petit (Fra) - Cofidis ST
8 Viktor Manakov (Rus) - Rusvelo ST
9 Yoeri Havik (Ned) - Ct. Rijke Shanks ST
10 Arthur Ershov (Rus) - Rusvelo ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
24 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
39 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
79 Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
115 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:49
117 Mitch Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:57
121 Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:29
122 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
146 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:29
147 Svein Tuft (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
148 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST