Mars Cycling Australia Road National Championships
Women's Road Race - Stage Details

A brave race by ORICA-AIS, including two strong moves by Amanda Spratt, lit up the Australian women’s road race championship in Ballarat this afternoon.

But a defense of the team’s national jersey was not to be for 2015, new recruit Lizzie Williams the top finisher in sixth position behind Peta Mullens who took out the championship.

Spratt and Williams joined 2013 and 2014 winner Gracie Elvin as the team’s three representatives, keen to be the aggressors of the 102km race.

“The idea was to try and send a rider out early so Gracie Elvin and Lizzie Williams could feed off that and get an easy ride to the finish,” sport director Gene Bates explained. 

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Peta Mullens 2:55:29
2 Rachel Neylan ST
3 Shara Gillow 0:22
4 Tessa Fabry 1:02
5 Kendelle Hodges 1:10
6 Lizzie Williams ORICA-AIS 1:10
7 Samantha de Riter 1:10
8 Ruth Corset 1:10
9 Lauren Kitchen 1:10
10 Tiffany Cromwell 1:10
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
6 Lizzie Williams ORICA-AIS 1:10
22 Gracie Elvin ORICA-AIS 1:16
29 Amanda Spratt ORICA-AIS 2:35