Mars Cycling Australia Road National Championships
Criterium - Men - Stage Details

Defending champion and lone ORICA-GreenEDGE contender Cameron Meyer narrowly missed the podium at the elite men’s criterium at the Mars Cycling Australia National Road Championships in Ballarat. Steele Von Hoff (Garmin-Sharp) took the race in a sprint finish ahead of Anthony Giacoppo (Avanti) and Brenton Jones (Avanti).

Meyer went on the attack early in the race, attempting to emulate last year’s solo breakaway win in the same event. It was a heavily marked move, with the ten-rider strong Drapac team preventing any breakaways from getting too much time over the bunch.

“Cam rode a smart and aggressive race tonight, and he almost medalled but it just wasn’t to be. He did everything he could to get a result so he’s happy with fourth. With only one rider in a crit like that, it’s hard to expect a result. Last year was a totally different story- he had four teammates and without that support it just wasn’t possible this time.” - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Steele Von Hoff (Aus) - Garmin-Sharp 1:00:05
2 Anthony Giacoppo (Aus) - Avanti 0:00:02
3 Brenton Jones (Aus) - Avanti ST
4 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:04
5 Michael Fitzegerald (Aus) - ST
6 Rico Rogers (Aus) - OCBC Singapore ST
7 Neil Van der Ploeg (Aus) - Avanti ST
8 Allan Davis (Aus) - ST
9 Craig Hutton (Aus) - ST
10 Darren Lapthrone (Aus) - Drapac 0:00:08
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:04