Mars Cycling Australia Road National Championships
Individual Time Trial - Women - Stage Details

Three-time reigning national time trial champion Shara Gillow secured the silver medal in the individual time trial at the Mars Cycling Australia National Road Championships on Wednesday. The Queenslander covered the 28 kilometre course in 39:18.8, 32” behind new national champion Felicity Wardlaw (Bicycle Superstore). Bridie O’Donnell took the bronze medal to round out the podium. All three ORICA-AIS riders finished in the top ten with Amanda Spratt equaling her seventh place finish from last season and Gracie Elvin jumping up two spots from eighth place to sixth place.

“Full credit to Felicity. The did a really good job today. I’m happy to get silver given my less than ideal build-up. I’ve been sick in the weeks leading up to the race and had to dial back my training for a couple weeks. Of course, I’m disappointed to miss out the title, but I gave it my best shot.” - Shara Gillow

“I wanted to get top five today. I nearly managed it. I’ve been working on a few skills that I’ve practiced since last year like riding in the biggest gear that I could muster and ‘monstering’ instead of spinning. I had my finacé Stu Shaw in the follow car giving me instructions over the radio. He told me when to go harder or stay in the saddle or get out of it. That helped me out a lot, too.” - Gracie Elvin

“Everything went well for Shara. She had great preparation. She just didn’t have the legs on the day compared to Wardlaw, who had a fantastic race. It’s great to see the depth of talent in Australia beyond our team.” - Sport Director Gene Bates


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Felicity Wardlow (Aus) - 38:46.6
2 Shara Gillow (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 00:32.2
3 Bridie O'Donnell (Aus) - 00:37.1
4 Katrin Garfoot (Aus) - 00:38.2
5 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) - Specialized lululemon 00:54.8
6 Gracie Elvin (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 01:02.5
7 Amanda Spratt (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 01:46.0
8 Taryn Heather (Aus) - Bigla Cycling Team 01:53.6
9 Lauren Kitchen (Aus) - Hitec Products UCK 02:43.8
10 Louisa Lobigs (Aus) - 02:52.7
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Shara Gillow (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 00:32.2
6 Gracie Elvin (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 01:02.5
7 Amanda Spratt (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 01:46.0