Mars Cycling Australia Road National Championships
Road Race - Men - Stage Details

Simon Gerrans is the new Australian National Road Champion after taking a dominant victory in the elite men’s road race ahead of Cadel Evans (BMC) and Richie Porte (Sky). Gerrans sealed the third consecutive title for the ORICA-GreenEDGE team, winning a sprint finish from the final group of four. Cameron Meyer led the select group to the line and ultimately finished in fourth, after working tirelessly to set Gerrans up for the win.

“Simon is a class act. He picks big targets, and he always gets them, especially during the past two years with us. The Nationals were a big goal, and now we move onto targeting Tour Down Under.” - Sport Director Matt White

“We were very confident in Gerro- we knew he had the form. Today was very similar to how he won this race in 2012- and we’d bank on him beating basically anyone in a finish like that. The whole team rode a strong and tactically smart race today and really stuck to the plan. It’s of crucial importance to us to take this jersey back to Europe, so we’re very happy with how things went today.” - Sport Director Matt Wilson

“The guys did exactly what they had to do today. I stuck to my guns in the finish- I knew I had good legs and as long as that little group stayed together I was confident I could finish it off. Cam fully committed. He really rode his guts out for me today. I’m sure he would have liked the chance to win himself today, but the plan was to work for me and he did that 100 percent. The whole team gave it everything for me today and I’m really grateful for that.” - Simon Gerrans


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 4:43:43
2 Cadel Evans (Aus) - BMC ST
3 Richie Porte (Aus) - Team Sky ST
4 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:05
5 Jack Bobridge (Aus) - Belkin 0:00:23
6 Darren Lapthorne (Aus) - Drapac ST
7 Mark O'Brien (Aus) - Avanti 0:00:29
8 Steele Von Hoff (Aus) - Garmin Sharp 0:00:48
9 Zakkari Dempster (Aus) - NetApp - Endura 0:00:48
10 David Tanner (Aus) - Belkin 0:00:48
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 4:43:43
4 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:05
19 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:07
27 Mathew Hayman (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:14