Milano Torino - Race Overview

Mitchelton-SCOTT produced strong team display full of intent at Milano-Torino in Italy today, before an explosive double ascent of the Superga climb blew the race apart with Adam Yates finishing in the top twenty.

The Australian WorldTour outfit set their stall out early, controlling the tempo of the peloton behind the breakaway for much of the day alongside FDJ until the race came back together for the grand finale.

Attacks peppered the front of the race with Yates, Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and eventual winner Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) all prominent as the leaders went over the top of the Superga, down the descent and up the other side for a brutal close to the race.

Yates lost contact with the front runners over the last two kilometres before Pinot made the most of an unfortunate crash within the leading group to sail away for a solo win.

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Thibaut Pinot (FRA) - Groupama-FDJ 04:43:36
2 Miguel Angel Lopez Moreno (COL) - Astana Pro Team 00:00:10
3 Alejandro Valverde (SPA) - Movistar Team 00:00:28
4 Mattia Cattaneo (ITA) - Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec 00:00:36
5 Sébastien Reichenbach (SWI) - Groupama-FDJ 00:00:38
6 Wilco Kelderman (NED) - Team Sunweb
7 Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA) - Bahrain-Merida 00:00:41
8 Jakob Fuglsang (DEN) - Astana Pro Team
9 Fabio Aru (ITA) - UAE Team Emirates 00:00:43
10 Egan Arley Bernal Gomez (COL) - Team Sky 00:00:45
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
14 Adam Yates (GBR) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:01:02
34 Mikel Nieve Iturralde (SPA) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:03:01