Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic - Men
Ritchie Boulevard Criterium - Stage Details

Jens Mouris spent the last 15 minutes of the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic opener in a two rider break. Opening the sprint in the final straightaway, Mouris appeared to have a lock on the win until Caleb Ewan (Bikebug) jumped from the bunch and overtook the breakaway duo to win the Ritchie Boulevard Criterium. Mouris settled for second. His breakmate, Tom Scully (Grays Online), rounded out the podium.

“We were gambling on a bunch sprint and wanted to keep Leigh [Howard] as fresh as possible. The other riders were meant to cover the best riders in the second half of the race and take their chances if they saw any opportunities to win for themselves. Jens covered the attack from Scully and set himself up for the win. If it wasn’t for the brave move from Caleb, he would have had it." - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Caleb Ewan (Aus) - Bikebug 1:00:21
2 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
3 Thomas Scully (NZl) - Grays Online ST
4 Graham Briggs (GBr) - GBR National Team ST
5 Greg Henderson (NZl) - Degani Bakery Café ST
6 Thomas Palmer (Aus) - DRAPAC ST
7 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
8 Simon Yates (GBr) - GBR National Team 0:00:03
9 Brenton Jones (Aus) - Huon Salmon - Genesys ST
10 Anthony Giacoppo (Aus) - Huon Salmon - Genesys 0:00:06
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
7 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
13 Luke Durbridge (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:10