Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic - Men
Ritchie Boulevard - Stage Details

Luke Durbridge and Matt Goss went on the attack during stage one of the 2014 season opener, forming part of a winning seven-man breakaway at the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic in Geelong. Leigh Howard sprinted from the lapped following bunch to take out eighth position; placing three ORICA-GreenEDGE riders in the final top ten behind winner Zak Dempster (SASI).

The stage one hot-dog course was a furious flurry of early attacks, with the breakaway forming quickly. ORICA-GreenEDGE was seemingly poised for victory, with young Aussie powerhouse Luke Durbridge in the move and sprinter Matt Goss bridging the gap to the break over two blistering laps.

In the bunch behind, ORICA-GreenEDGE riders rode defensively, shutting down potentially damaging attacks from sprinters Caleb Ewan (Subaru NSWIS) and Steele Von Hoff (Procon Telematics). As the break gathered speed and momentum, they lapped the following bunch with six laps to go, ensuring the winner would come from the lead group of seven. Despite the two-man advantage, Durbridge and Goss missed out on a podium finish, placing fifth and sixth respectively.

“Most guys were watching Goss for the win today. But he wasn’t at his best- it’s a bit early in the season for him. The boys talked during the race and decided Durbo had the best shot. The explosive jumps out of the corners don’t suit Durbo, so he knew his best chance was to get away alone rather than wait for a sprint. He was in super form today, and he made multiple attempts to get away from the break, but he was just marked so heavily that it never eventuated." - Sport Director Matt Wilson



Place Rider/Team Time
1 Zakkari Dempster (Aus) - SASI 58:01
2 Felix English (IRL) - Rapha Condor JLT ST
3 Brenton Jones (Aus) - Procon Telematics ST
4 Luke Parker (Aus) - Jayco VIS ST
5 Luke Durbridge (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
6 Matthew Goss (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
7 Harry Carpenter (Aus) - SASI ST
8 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:08
9 Graham Briggs (GBr) - Rapha Condor JLT ST
10 George Tansley (Aus) - SASI ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
5 Luke Durbridge (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
6 Matthew Goss (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
8 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:08
11 Mitch Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:58
12 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST