Liège - Bastogne - Liège - Race Overview

Simon Gerrans made history on Sunday, becoming the first Australian to win Liège-Bastogne-Liège. Gerrans, adds the 100th edition of La Doyenne to a resume which now includes three overall victories at the Tour Down Under, stage wins at all three Grand Tours, two days in yellow and Australia’s second victory at Milan–Sanremo. Gerrans enjoyed impeccable support from his ORICA-GreenEDGE teammates en route to his monumental win.

“I can’t say thank you enough to my team. They supported me all day and placed me perfectly over the final climbs. It took a real team effort to finish in the front today and to put me in a position to go for the win.” - Simon Gerrans

“Simon came onto the radio to say that he was going through a bad patch. But then he came good again. When he passed the Saint-Nicolas, that’s when I knew he definitely had a chance. We’ve never seen a Liège with so many riders contesting the final. The race is usually decided well before it was decided today. To have so many guys in contention at the finish is unusual, but we knew we had the guy that could finish it off for us.” - Sport Director Matt White

“This is a race that has always eluded Australians. It’s definitely the hardest one day race in the world and the most prestigious. To win Liège in the 100th year as the first Australian in the first Australian team, it’s something really special. When I think back over the history of the team so far, I reckon this is probably our biggest victory so far.” - General Manager Shayne Bannan

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 6:37:43
2 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
3 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team ST
4 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) - Team Katusha ST
5 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:03
6 Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) - Garmin Sharp ST
7 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
8 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) - BMC Racing Team ST
9 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) - Team Katusha 0:00:05
10 Romain Bardet (Fra) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:06
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 6:37:43
34 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:11
40 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:26
41 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
89 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:08:52
95 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:10:43
111 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:12:01
115 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:12:15
142 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:10
144 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:45