Omloop Het Nieuwsblad - Race Overview

Large crowds on a sunny and windy morning in Gent welcomed the 71st edition of Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, which has been won by Greg Van Avermat (BMC). 

It was a day of misfortune for ORICA-GreenEDGE, which saw local Belgian rider Jens Keukeleire suffer a mechanical with 59 kilometres to go as he was forced to take a wheel from teammate Alexander EdmondsonMathew Hayman was involved in a crash with Phillipe Gilbert (BMC) compounding the team’s misfortunes.

While both Keukeleire and Edmondson were able to finish the race Hayman was rushed to hospital for scans with a broken right radius. It is still to be decided whether surgery will be required.

“It was a really unlucky race for us today, we had riders in excellent positions for most of the race,” explained sports director Laurenzo Lapage.

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team 4:54:12
2 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Tinkoff Team ST
3 Tiesj Benoot (BEL) - Lotto Soudal ST
4 Luke Rowe (GBR) - Team Sky ST
5 Alexis Gougeard (FRA) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:05
6 Jens Debusschere (BEL) - Lotto Soudal 0:00:09
7 Adrien Petit (FRE) - Direct Energie 0:00:09
8 Edward Theuns (BEL) - Trek-Segafredo 0:00:09
9 Jasper Stuyven (BEL) - Trek-Segafredo 0:00:09
10 Matthieu Ladagnous (FRA) - FDJ 0:00:09
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
69 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:41
79 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:41
116 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:18:31
126 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:18:31
129 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:18:31
133 Mitchell Docker (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:18:31