Omloop Het Nieuwsblad-vrouwen - Race Overview

Swedish champion Emma Johansson has finished amongst the chase group in the opening European race of the season, the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad-vrouwen, today.

Johansson was given 14th position behind Anna van der Breggen (Rabobank-Liv Woman Cycling Team), who won from a two-rider breakaway.

Remaining together after the first climb of the day, the peloton split in half over the second.

Shortly after, on the Cote de Trieu, 13 riders worked off the front, Johansson and Gracie Elvin representing ORICA-AIS amongst them. They were joined by a small chase to make a strong 30-rider lead group.

Sport director Gene Bates said the team was ready for the critical stage of the race, but limited numbers in the split made for a difficult day out front.

“We knew the Cote de Trieu climb would be critical as it is every year,” Bates said. “Then leading into the Paterberg you really need to have soldiers in the front and we either didn’t have the legs or got caught behind and that really limited our numbers.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Anna Van Der Breggen (NED) - Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team 3:32:16
2 Eleonora Van Dijk (NED) - Boels Dolmans Cycling Team ST
3 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBR) - Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 0:00:14
4 Chantal Blaak (NED) - Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 0:00:14
5 Tiffany Cromwell (AUS) - Velocio - SRAM 0:00:14
6 Elena Cecchini (ITA) - Lotto Soudal Ladies 0:00:14
7 Amy Pieters (NED) - Team Liv-Plantur 0:00:14
8 Christine Majerus (LUX) - Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 0:00:14
9 Trixi Worrack (GER) - Velocio - SRAM 0:00:14
10 Roxane Knetemann (NED) - Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team 0:00:14
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
14 Emma Johansson (SWE) - ORICA-AIS 0:00:14
26 Gracie Elvin (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 0:02:33
34 Valentina Scandolara (ITA) - ORICA-AIS 0:04:54
38 Loes Gunnewijk (NED) - ORICA-AIS 0:04:54
43 Lizzie Williams (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 0:04:54
50 Amanda Spratt (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 0:04:54