Omloop van het Hageland - Race Overview

ORICA-AIS enjoyed a successful outing at Omloop van het Hageland where Emma Johansson delivered the Australian outfit’s third podium in Belgium over eight days of racing. The Swede was part of the race winning move that was reduced from a 17 rider front group to a two rider late race break. Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans) outkicked Johansson to the line. Johansson settled for second, 4” ahead of the chase group.

"I’m not only pleased with the result, I’m also really happy with the way the team rode. While we may say that our objective is to win every race, we know that’s impossible. We strive to win every time we line up, but we can be happy with other results when we ride well as a team – and for the last two races, we’ve demonstrated a really good ability to gel together. With what I’ve seen this week in Belgium, I’m confident we’ve got a lot to look forward to this season." - Emma Johansson 

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) - Boels- Dolmans 3:15:43
2 Emma Johansson (Swe) - ORICA-AIS ST
3 Audrey Cordon (Fra) - Hitec Products 0:00:04
4 Thalita de Jong (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv ST
5 Sofie de Vuyst (Bel) - ST
6 Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv ST
7 Jessie Daams (Bel) - Boels- Dolmans ST
8 Amanda Spratt (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:00:07
9 Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) - Rabobank-Liv 0:00:09
10 Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) - Hitec Products ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Emma Johansson (Swe) - ORICA-AIS ST
8 Amanda Spratt (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:00:07
27 Gracie Elvin (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:01:26
52 Carlee Taylor (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
57 Shara Gillow (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST