Vuelta a España
Stage 12: Vilagarcía de Arousa – Mirador de Ézaro - Stage Details

Cameron Meyer treated fans to another exciting day of racing on stage 12 of the Vuelta a España. Part of a four-rider break that formed towards the end of the second hour of racing, Meyer remained off the front of the field on the lower slopes of the Mirador de Ézaro summit finish. Eventually, Meyer found himself in a familiar position as the lone leader of a stage in the closing kilometers of a summit finish with Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha), Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank –Tinkoff Bank), Chris Froome (Sky Procyclng) and Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) in his pursuit. Rodriguez led the charge past Meyer with Contador on his wheel.

Rodriguez attacked Contador in the final 200 meters to take the stage win and extend his overall lead. Contador finished second on the stage followed by Valderde, Robert Gesink (Rabobank) and Froome. Meyer came across the line in 28th place, a result that belied the courage and effort on display.

“There was obviously a lot of interest in bonus seconds from the guys on general classification,” said Sports Director Neil Stephens. “Cam did everything he could to make his move stick. It was another brilliant ride by him where he came just short at the finish. It was a repeat of Andorra [on stage eight] in that way.”


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) - Katusha Team 4:24:32
2 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) - Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank 0:00:08
3 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) - Movistar Team 0:00:13
4 Robert Gesink (Ned) - Rabobank Cycling Team 0:00:20
5 Christopher Froome (GBr) - Sky Procycling 0:00:23
6 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) - Katusha Team ST
7 Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) - Euskaltel - Euskadi 0:00:27
8 Nicolas Roche (Irl) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:31
9 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) - Lampre - ISD 0:00:33
10 Gorka Verdugo Marcotegui (Spa) - Euskaltel - Euskadi 0:00:36
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
28 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:05
67 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:21
79 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:46
157 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:29
158 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
159 Julian Dean (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
168 Travis Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:03
189 Daniel Teklehaymanot (Eri) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:32:35
190 Allan Davis (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST