Vuelta a España
Stage 15: La Robla – Lagos de Covadonga - Stage Details


The break stayed away and the overall contenders traded blows on the stage 15 summit finish of the Vuelta a España. It was a mixed bag day for ORICA-GreenEDGE. Daniel Teklehaimanot was amongst 19 riders that went up the road. The break split on a decent, and Daniel missed the selection. Later in the day, Daniel crashed into a ditch on a descent. He was able to get back on his bike and finish the stage. In more positive news, Simon Clarke maininted the mountain classification lead and remains in the polka dot jersey. 

"I can understand the surprise not to see one of our riders amongst the names in the break. After all, we’ve been in nearly every break during this race. Originally, the break of ten that opened up the enormous gap included nine more riders. A group of 19 went up the road, and Daniel Teklehaimanot was in the group." - Sports Director Neil Stephens. 


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) - Katusha Team 58:17:21
2 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) - Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank 0:00:22
3 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) - Movistar Team 0:01:41
4 Christopher Froome (GBr) - Sky Procycling 0:02:16
5 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) - Katusha Team 0:04:51
6 Robert Gesink (Ned) - Rabobank Cycling Team 0:05:42
7 Andrew Talansky (USA) - Garmin - Sharp 0:06:48
8 Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) - Rabobank Cycling Team 0:07:17
9 Nicolas Roche (Irl) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:07:21
10 Igor Anton (Spa) - Euskaltel - Euskadi 0:07:39
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
80 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:20:59
101 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:36:00
106 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:40:15
158 Travis Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 2:06:56
159 Daniel Teklehaymanot (Eri) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 2:07:28
169 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 2:17:14
173 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 2:19:14
174 Julian Dean (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 2:22:47
177 Allan Davis (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 2:30:00