Vuelta a España
Stage 18: Aguilar de Campoo – Valladolid - Stage Details


Allan Davis sprinted to third on stage 18 of the Vuelta a España. The day marked the first bunch sprint in Spain after eight days of racing tailored towards the climbers and breakaway artists. Along with Davis' strong result in the sprint, ORICA-GreenEDGE won the team prize and Simon Clarke remains in the polka dot jersey.

“The boys did a really good job once again with the lead out,” said Davis. “There were a lot of corners and roundabouts in the final. We had a mishap in the final corner. I was further back than I wanted to be, and I had to brake too much. I lost my wheel. I came home strong but the line came a bit too quick,” Davis noted. “I ended up third. Thanks to the boys for their help in getting me a podium place again today.”


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Daniele Bennati (Ita) - Radioshack-Nissan 4:17:17
2 Ben Swift (GBr) - Sky Procycling 0:00:01
3 Allan Davis (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
4 Lloyd Mondory (Fra) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
5 John Degenkolb (Ger) - Argos-Shimano ST
6 Davide Vigano (Ita) - Lampre - ISD ST
7 Matti Breschel (Den) - Rabobank Cycling Team ST
8 Koen De Kort (Ned) - Argos-Shimano ST
9 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
10 Grégory Rast (Swi) - Radioshack-Nissan 0:00:06
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Allan Davis (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
9 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
13 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:06
26 Daniel Teklehaymanot (Eri) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:10
61 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
70 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
100 Julian Dean (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:02
177 Travis Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:18