Vuelta a España
Stage 6: Tarazona - Jaca - Stage Details


Pieter Weening spent the day in a five-rider break that formed during the opening kilometers of today's stage on an otherwise quiet day for ORICA-GreenEDGE. Mitch Docker and Daniel Teklehaimanot were both involved in minor crashes. Fortunately, they were both able to rejoin the bunch quickly and neither is reporting any injury. Simon Clarke continues to lead the mountains classification after moving into the KOM lead on stage four. 

"Pieter took the initiative to get into the break,” said Sports Director Neil Stephens. “This was good for us because on paper today’s stage wasn’t ideal for any of our riders. Simon Clarke would probably have been most suited to this type of finish, but we didn’t put many expectations on him after the work he did on Tuesday.”


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) - Katusha Team 4:35:22
2 Christopher Froome (GBr) - Sky Procycling 0:00:05
3 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) - Movistar Team 0:00:10
4 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) - Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank 0:00:19
5 Eros Capecchi (Ita) - Liquigas-Cannondale ST
6 Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) - Sky Procycling ST
7 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:25
8 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:28
9 Nicolas Roche (Irl) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
10 Robert Gesink (Ned) - Rabobank Cycling Team 0:00:33
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
84 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA - GreenEdge 0:07:32
106 Daniel Teklehaymanot (Eri) - ORICA - GreenEdge 0:09:42
149 Allan Davis (Aus) - ORICA - GreenEdge 0:18:45
150 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA - GreenEdge ST
151 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA - GreenEdge ST
171 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA - GreenEdge 0:18:54
175 Julian Dean (NZl) - ORICA - GreenEdge ST
182 Travis Meyer (Aus) - ORICA - GreenEdge ST
189 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA - GreenEdge 0:19:04