Vuelta a España
Stage 8: Lleida – Andorra. Collada de la Gallina - Stage Details


Cameron Meyer was the man of the moment in the closing kilometers of the seventh stage of the Vuelta a España. Part of a six rider breakaway that formed during the second hour of racing between Lleida and Andorra, Meyer launched an attack three kilometers from the Collada de la Gallina summit to lead the race alone.

Behind Meyer, Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) was the first of the favorites to jump from the whittled down bunch. Chris Froome (Sky Procycling), Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha), and Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank – Tinkoff) joined Valverde and the quartet exchanged blows as they clawed their way up towards Meyer. Froome and Contador were the first to catch Meyer. Rodriguez, Valverde and Daniel Moreno (Katusha) bridged across to form a seven-rider move before Meyer lost contact with the elite group and went on to finish 20th.

"I had hoped the big guys like Contador, Froome, Valverde and Rodriguez might ease up a little bit after they had come by me. If they were only slightly slower, I could have held on all the way to the finish. They didn’t ease up, and I had ride up the hill as quick as I could at my own pace. It’s a steep, hard climb. I gave it everything." - Cameron Meyer


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) - Movistar Team 4:06:39
2 Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) - Katusha Team ST
3 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) - Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank
4 Christopher Froome (GBr) - Sky Procycling 0:00:15
5 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) - Katusha Team 0:00:23
6 Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (Spa) - Movistar Team 0:00:33
7 Igor Anton (Spa) - Euskaltel - Euskadi ST
8 Winner Anacona Gomez (Col) - Lampre - ISD 0:00:39
9 Robert Gesink (Ned) - Rabobank Cycling Team ST
10 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) - Lampre - ISD 0:00:42
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
20 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:37
72 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:10
116 Travis Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
120 Daniel Teklehaymanot (Eri) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
125 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
158 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:19:42
160 Allan Davis (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
161 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
170 Julian Dean (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:19:48