Stage 1: Mantes-la-Jolie - Mantes-la-Jolie - Stage Details

A late race crash split the bunch on the opening stage of Paris-Nice. Jens Keukeleire, Mat Hayman, Michael Albasini and Simon Yates made the 100 rider front group. Matt Goss, Michael Matthews, Mitch Docker and Simon Gerrans were caught behind the crash, missed out on the move and crossed the finish line 1’09 behind the main field.

Giant-Shimano was pushing the pace when the mid-pack crash blocked the road. The chaos that followed would prove decisive. Several overall contenders were amongst those in the second group that lost time on stage one.

Gianni Meersman (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) was the first to open his sprint. He was forced to settle for third when both Nacer Bouhanni ( and John Degenkolb (Giant-Shimano) came around him in their bid for the line. Bouhanni took the stage win to pull on the first leader’s jersey. Mat Hayman was the best-placed rider for ORICA-GreenEDGE in 11th place. 

“There was a lot of stress in the bunch during the last circuit lap. All our guys were riding in the middle of the peloton when there was a crash. Five of our guys missed out – Gerro, Bling, Gossy, Docker and Simon Yates. Somehow Simon was able to work his way back to the front, so we had four ahead and four behind. The plan today was to work for Gossy in the sprint. We committed all the guys to him. It was unfortunate to lose an opportunity, but we were lucky to get away without any major injuries. There were a lot of crashes today.” - Sport Director Dave McPartland


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) - 3:53:11
2 John Degenkolb (Ger) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
3 Gianni Meersman (Bel) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team ST
4 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
5 Tyler Farrar (USA) - Garmin Sharp ST
6 Bryan Coquard (Fra) - Team Europcar ST
7 Luca Wackermann (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
8 Fabio Felline (Ita) - Trek Factory Racing ST
9 Fabio Sabatini (Ita) - Cannondale ST
10 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) - Astana Pro Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
11 Mathew Hayman (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
25 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
71 Simon Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
112 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:09
131 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
144 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE
150 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
162 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:12