Paris - Nice
Stage 3: Saint-Amand-Montrond to Saint-Pourçain-sur-Sioule - Stage Details

Multiple grand tour stage winner Michael Matthews is the new leader of Paris-Nice following a perfectly executed sprint on stage three by the entire ORICA-GreenEDGE outfit.

The slightly uphill finish caught the eye of Matthews and his intentions were clear as a full train of ORICA-GreenEDGE jerseys proved prevalent at the front of the field in the closing kilometres.

Capping off their efforts, the 24-year-old came around the wheel in the final 100metres and never looked back, crossing the line ahead of Davide Cimolai (Lampre – Merida) and Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek Factory Racing).

“Full credit to the team for the win, it was all them,” Matthews said. “I just had to do the last 200metres and that was probably the easy part.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 4:32:12
2 Davide Cimolai (ITA) - Lampre-Merida ST
3 Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA) - Trek Factory Racing ST
4 Alexander Kristoff (NOR) - Team Katusha ST
5 Jose Joaquin Rojas (SPA) - Movistar Team ST
6 Matti Breschel (DEN) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
7 Moreno Hofland (NED) - Team LottoNL-Jumbo ST
8 Nacer Bouhanni (FRA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits ST
9 Bryan Coquard (FRA) - Team Europcar ST
10 Arnaud Demare (FRA) - ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 4:32:12
17 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
27 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
61 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
120 Christian Meier (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:28
136 Mitchell Docker (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:48
140 Simon Clarke (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:52
149 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:43