Paris - Roubaix - Race Overview

Niki Terpstra (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) entered the velodrome in Roubaix alone. Following the final sector of pave, the Dutchman attacked an elite group of ten riders that included the likes of Fabian Cancellara (Trek Factory Racing), Peter Sagan (Cannondale), Sep Vanmarcke (Belkin), Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) and Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky). Terpstra let out a roar of joy as he celebrated the biggest win of his career some 20” before John Degenkolb (Giant-Shimano) edged out Cancellara in the small group sprint for second.

Jens Keukeleire was the top finisher for ORICA-GreenEDGE, slotting into 25th place. The Belgian was part of an eight rider group that crossed the line 1’05 after Terpstra’s monumental victory. Mitch Docker finished with the fourth group to make its way into the exalted track stadium. Alongside Taylor Phinney (BMC), Lars Boom (Belkin) and former winner Johan Vansummeren (Garmin Sharp), Docker rolled across the finish.

Mathew Hayman was alone when as crossed the line. Twice in the top ten and quietly ambitious about his chances to break into the top five or even climb onto the podium, Hayman was admittedly disappointed to finish in 41st place at 4’14. Two mechanicals in the final ten kilometres had spoiled his chances.

Luke Durbridge finished his second Paris-Roubaix in 90th place the Sunday after he had crashed out of his first Tour of Flanders. Jens Mouris slotted into 118th, more than 18’ down but he made it to the velodrome. Anonymous results that fail to tell the story of their contributions to their team leader. Durbridge and Mouris survived the Trouée d’Arenberg alongside Keukeleire, Docker and Hayman, affording Hayman additional sets of hands and legs as the kilometres ticked down.

Michael Hepburn finished his first Paris-Roubaix. The week prior he had made it to the finish of his first Tour of Flanders. Two huge feats for the young rider.

Sam Bewley suffered a heavy crash in the first half of his first Paris-Roubaix, injuring his wrist. The Roubaix first-timer had dreamt of the velodrome. Instead his race ended in the hospital. While we, like he, wish he had made it to the finish, Bewley’s work was done by the time he had crashed. The New Zealander successfully looked after Hayman in the oft-chaotic early action.

Aidis Kruopis didn’t make it to the velodrome either. When Docker punctured at a critical moment in the race, Kruopis handed over his wheel. The Lithuanian waited for a new wheel as the race rode away from him and eventually he pulled the plug.

"We were more active than we’ve ever been at Paris-Roubaix. Even though we didn’t come up with the final result we would have wanted, we followed the plan we hoped would get us there." - Mitch Docker

"The spare wheel folded on me on the last sector of cobbles, and I ended up crashing. I had to wait for another wheel. My result doesn’t reflect the work we did or my condition. It was really disappointing." - Mathew Hayman

"I felt good until Carrefour d’Arbre. I think if you still feel good at that moment, that’s how you know you’re up for the win. For me, from that moment to the finish, it was just survival." - Jens Keukeleire

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Niki Terpstra (Ned) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 6:09:01
2 John Degenkolb (Ger) - Team Giant-Shimano 0:00:20
3 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) - Trek Factory Racing ST
4 Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) - Belkin-Pro Cycling Team ST
5 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team ST
6 Peter Sagan (Svk) - Cannondale ST
7 Geraint Thomas (GBr) - Team Sky ST
8 Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) - Garmin Sharp ST
9 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) - Team Sky ST
10 Tom Boonen (Bel) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
25 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:05
29 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:55
41 Mathew Hayman (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:14
90 Luke Durbridge (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:55
118 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:18:39
133 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:27:46