People's Choice Classic - Santos Tour Down Under - Race Overview

2016 Australian criterium champion Caleb Ewan has claimed the People’s Choice Classic at the Santos Tour Down Under this evening.

Ewan launched off the wheel of ORICA-GreenEDGE teammate Daryl Impey and found an opening to burst ahead of Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek–Segafredo) and Adam Blythe (Tinkoff) for the first honours in Adelaide.

The win takes the 2015 Vuelta a Espana stage winner to six victories in 2016 after his success at the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic and the Australian road championships earlier this month.

“I felt really good coming into this race,” the 21-year-old said after the victory. “I’ve had some good races leading up to this and I think I should be peaking pretty well this week.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:02:25
2 Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA) - Trek–Segafredo ST
3 Adam Blythe (GBR) - Tinkoff ST
4 Ben Swift (GBR) - Team Sky ST
5 Marko Kump (SLO) - Lampre–Merida ST
6 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) - ReinardtTeam Dimension Data ST
7 Davide Martinelli (ITA) - Etixx–Quick-Step ST
8 Matteo Pelucchi (ITA) - IAM Cycling ST
9 Wouter Wippert (NED) - Cannondale ST
10 Patrick Shaw (AUS) - UniSA-Australia ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:02:25
17 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
64 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:11
75 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:30
131 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:43