Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey
Stage 8: Istanbul - Stage Details

Danish neo-pro Magnus Cort has rounded up the top ten on the eighth and final stage of the Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey in Istanbul.

Cort was supported by his ORICA-GreenEDGE teammates who committed to closing the early breakaway in the last ten kilometres and move the 22-year-old to the front of the peloton as they reach a crucial hairpin turn just ahead of the one kilometre to go mark.

The finale featured cobbles, turns and a rise that proved crucial to the escape of eventual winner Lluis Mas Bonet (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA).

“Our strategy was to put Magnus in a good position going into that last U-turn,” sport director Laurenzo Lapage said. “You saw from the bottom of the hill after that it was pretty much the same guys that stayed in the top ten for the stage.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Luis Mas Bonet (SPA) - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 2:45:03
2 Mark Cavendish (GBR) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
3 Carlos Barbero Cuesta (SPA) - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA ST
4 Alessandro Petacchi (ITA) - Southeast Pro Cycling ST
5 Daniele Colli (ITA) - Nippo - Vini Fantini ST
6 Daniele Ratto (ITA) - UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling ST
7 Davide Appollonio (ITA) - Androni Giocattoli ST
8 Eduard Prades Reverte (SPA) - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA ST
9 Roy Jans (BEL) - Wanty - Groupe Gobert ST
10 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
10 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
47 Christian Meier (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:23
116 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:27
121 Adam Blythe (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:57
126 Jens Mouris (NED) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:04
134 Cameron Meyer (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:14
145 Damien Howson (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:15