Prudential Ride London Surrey Classic - Race Overview

Vuelta a Espana stage winner Magnus Cort unleashed a strong sprint at today’s Ride London Classic to take second place for ORICA-SCOTT after teammate Daryl Impey animated in the races late attack.

A long, yet fast race unfolded over 200kilometres with an early breakaway allowed plenty of rope before being brought back with 60kilometres to go. Fresh attacks followed with South African national time trial champion Impey part of a three-man move that held a gap going into the race finale.

Impey dropped off as the pace changed in the closing kilometres, leaving two riders out front that ended up getting caught in the final kilometre as the bunch brought about the anticipated sprint finish.

Cort was well placed and launched his sprint strongly, edging out front as Alexander Kristoff (Katusha-Alpecin) came up on the Dane’s right to take a narrow victory with Cort in a very respectable second place.

“We had a great day today, almost perfect,” said sport director Gene Bates. “The guys rode a very intelligent race and we wanted to be ahead of the game and on the front foot as much as possible. The race situation worked out well for us when the second move with Daryl went away because it meant we didn’t have to work to bring about the sprint.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Alexander Kristoff (NOR) - Katusha-Alpecin 4:45:41
2 Magnus Cort Neilson (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 4:45:41
3 Michael Matthews (AUS) - Team Sunweb
4 Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) - Cannondale-Drapac
5 Wouter Wippert (NED) - Cannondale-Drapac
6 Jean-Pierre Drucker (LUX) - BMC Racing Team
7 Zakkari Dempster (AUS) - Israel Cycling Academy
8 Sam Bennett (IRL) - Bora-Hansgrohe
9 Rudy Barbier (FRA) - AG2R La Mondiale
10 Oliver Naesen (BEL) - AG2R La Mondiale
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Magnus Cort Neilson (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 4:45:41
55 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:14
58 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:24
59 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:37
70 Roger Kluge (GER) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:25
73 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:05:21
78 Alexander Edmondson (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:09:04